An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

>Well, I know I’ve not been posting much, but I have a good excuse, Miss, honestly. My goldfish ate my laptop, you see, and then the cat ate the fish, but choked on the F key that was still undigested inside poor Mr Flippers. I know, it sounds unplausable, but so does an earthquake in Cumbria. And look how that turned out!

Seriously though, I’ve had technical issues. And the panic that comes hot on the tail of any laptop shutdown. I’m pretty good at backing up my writing and assignments, but I hadn’t for about a week. In which time I’d written my next Open University assignment (more on that later) and rehashed the first three chapters of my new novel to the point where I had a flow back. Oh, and there was my new werewolf short story on there too.
Time to panic, indeed! Luckily, I think it can be saved but it’ll cost over £100. Totally worth it for all the work on there, though.

Another day, another rejection slip. Poor old ‘Lovecraft’, a love story between a rock chick and tentacled hell-spawn, just can’t get a break. I’ll be sending it elsewhere in the new year, but for now it can rest in the solitude of my hard drive (when it’s fixed).

The assignment is not going well. Adapting a previous short story to script is completely new ground for me, and as it turns out, I’m terrible at it. The formatting is driving me mental. It’s been less a learning curve, and more of a climb, using ropes and pulleys to drag my ass up the mountinside accompanied by some gurka guides and a faithful huskie. Or something.
But it’s really helped me with dialogue. Telling a story without any third person narrative or first person insight really makes you think about what’s being said and what your characters are doing with themselves while talking. It’s not an easy task, script writing, but well worth it for anyone wanting to improve their prose.

Feeding my Steampunk fetish, I’ve just read Paul Di Filippo’s Steampunk Trilogy. The stories are excellent. He has a real flair for original plots. I sometimes find that the urge to use airships and goggles overshadows the plot, but not in this book. The only problem, for me, is the style. I love the imagery of Steampunk but sometimes it’s written with such devotion to victorian literature that it’s a little hard to read. That’s one of the few problems with Di Filippo’s book. But that really is all. Have a read. It’s well worth the effort.
Up next is Boneshaker by Cherie Priest. It has my two favourite things. Zombies and Steampunk. I don’t think I can contain myself :oD

Well, hope you all have a good Christmas and I’ll see you in the New Year!

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

