An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

>Over-stepping my bounds…

>

Oh yes, dear friends, I have been humbled.

In a desperate effort to escape a day job I hate, I’ve applied for two jobs. One I didn’t get an interview for (which was kind of expected, even I thought I was stretching a little too much). The second I interviewed for yesterday and didn’t get. Good candidate, apparently, just pipped to the post by a more experienced rival. Assassination contract is in the process of being drafted as we speak.

And as if that wasn’t enough, it has finally come to the time when Not Before Bed has been reduced in price on bith Smashwords and Amazon. Since changing it from being free, I’ve sold precisely 0 copies. Nada, zilch, nothing, zero. This, of course, could be because people like free stuff more. But I’m not the line of guy to ignore the other possibility; people just aren’t willing to pay for what I write. So, the price has been reduced and we shall see what occurs next!

You would think these things would make me feel down and stricken. On the contrary. I’m compelled to not only push myself further professionally, but to create a better product with my next ebook project.

I shall not be defeated! GAAAAAAAH!

7 responses

  1. >Good on you Craig! That is the attitude to have – never ever give up! Believe me I know how disheartening it can all get, but I.. forever the dreamer.. will also never ever give up! Sending you good vibes.

    June 8, 2011 at 9:09 pm

  2. >Get 'em, Craig! Never give up and keep cracking. Good things will happen.

    June 9, 2011 at 3:06 am

  3. >Thanks for the kind words, guys. It's very much appreciated. On the upside, I've just been shortlusted for a misanthrope press anthology, so let's hope it goes all the way, eh?

    June 9, 2011 at 5:48 am

  4. >Congrats on the shortlist! And you didn't want those stinking jobs anyway! :)Hey, if I have a Nook, can I download SmashWords books on it, or do those only go to Kindles? I'm borderline incapable of operating machinery, but I'd love to check out your book!

    June 10, 2011 at 6:01 am

  5. >Hi Lisa. You're right, I didn't want them anyway! Haha You can download to any platform from Smashwords. If you go to the page, there'll be a lust of formats to choose from. Let me know if you get stuck. I'll try to help as best I can. Thanks for showing an interest!

    June 10, 2011 at 1:05 pm

  6. >Craig, you did a nice job with that collection. It's out there, now, so put your energy into the next project. As you grow as a writer and get more content out there, more eyes will fall upon that collection and the readers will find it.It's all about the long-term approach, so keep building and growing…

    June 10, 2011 at 6:46 pm

  7. >Hiya, Dan. Excellent advise! I'm officially focussing on 'Emi' from now on. Let the collection ferment for a bit, eh?

    June 11, 2011 at 8:27 am

Leave a Reply

