And now for something completely different…

I’m still getting to grips with this WordPress lark. I’ve recently found out that you can see what searches people have entered to find your site. The two best have been:

funny giraffe face picture

fat and funny dogs

I think I’m in the wrong business! If I just added LOLcatz pics to a post, I’d get more hits than advertising on Twitter! 🙂 The particularly interesting one is ‘fat and funny dogs’. I dont actually have a picture of a dog on the blog at all! The giraffe I do have, however, and so it’s my own fault.

I also realise that I’ve been neglecting your artistic appreciation skills. This came about when my girlfriend (an English Teacher) has asked me to once again participate in a scheme of work she’s running for her kids. We did it a couple of years back, and it was a hit, so we’re doing it again. Basically, it’s based on comic books. The kids learn about language through comics and their overiding project is to create a hero of their own. The best design in each class is voted for by their peers, and the best of three classes is decided by the Headmistress. And here’s where I come in. The winners of each class and the overall winner gets their heroes drawn my yours-truly in true comic book style.

I always have masses of fun with this. Interpreting the kids’ designs is a challenge at times, but it pays off. We also did the same thing with David Almond’s Skellig where the kids drew Skellig and I redrew the winner. That one was particularly tough. I tried to find these old drawings in my folders, then remembered that the kids had them, of course. DOH! And so I thought I’d share some of my other drawings with you to break the monotony of this blog a bit. So, here we go!

From my favourite movie, Evil Dead 2 (Bruce Campbell is a legend)
From the stimulus: MJ rides Spider-man like a pony. Don't think it was what they expected hahaha
Messing around with designs for the Fantasic Four (Yes, I'm a geek)
My personal favourite: Steampunk Frankenstein

As Neil Buchanan (the only celebrity to follow me on Twitter) would say…this is an Art Attack!

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

