An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

100th post!

It seems that the planets are aligning, the Ley Lines are pulsing with mystic energy and Druids all over the Britain are capering around naked to the sound of a flute.

Yes, it’s my 100th post. And, as if by divine intervention, I have good news.

A submission to Misanthrope Press’ Werewolf anthology Children of the Moon has been accepted! Hunting Grounds is a werewolf tale with a difference. Stephen is a werewolf who works in a coffee shop, because the smell of roasting beans drowns out the stench of humans that usually assaults his senses. We find him on a regular day at work, tryign to keep his wolfishness under control while wooing a regular customer. And all seems to be going well, unti after the coffee house is closed and the smell is gone. That’s when Stephen comes across a powerful scent lingering around one of the tables; a scent that sets his inner wolf growling.

And this gives me an excuse to post one of my favourite screen Werewolves...George from Being Human

Based in my home town of Doncaster, people from around here should recognise the landmarks and routes taken throughout the story (I hope). This story was used for my final assignment on the OU’s Advanced Creative Writing course and I’m really glad it got to see new life in an anthology.

The deets? All I know thus far is that Children of the Moon is due for release in September this year. Although it’s published in America ( My first overseas publication), you’ll be able to order print copies for delivery (as I’ll be doing). As I hear more, and see covers etc. I’ll keep you updated.

 

Thanks for reading!

6 responses

  1. Congrats, Craig! That’s fantastic. Do keep us posted.

    July 8, 2011 at 9:47 am

    • Thanks Shea. I’m really chuffed. It’s been a while since I got an acceptance so it’s a nice ego stroke hahaha

      July 8, 2011 at 12:05 pm

  2. Congratulations.

    July 9, 2011 at 7:34 am

    • Thanks Cate. Much appreciated from someone of your high calibre 😉

      July 9, 2011 at 9:11 am

  3. BIG congrats — nicely done, sir!

    July 11, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    • Much appreciated, Milo. Here’s hoping it’s the start of a streak!

      July 11, 2011 at 10:14 pm

Leave a Reply

