An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

Author Interview: D.H. Nevins

Hello and welcome once again to Pseudo-writer for the lastest author spotlight. This time we’re talking to D.H. Nevins, author of Wormwood. For those with a penchant for post-apocalyptic and religious fantasy novels, this one will be for

This is your next read. Guaranteed!

you! Here’s the blurb:

This post-apocalyptic tale, set across earth’s freshly devastated landscape, follows the intertwined paths of a half-angel, tormented by the necessity of completing tasks he has no choice but to follow, and the book’s heroine, Kali, who must trust her greatest enemy in order to survive.
What people say about it:
“Wow, I actually thought I was out of breath. Very well done…an excellent read”

“Wormwood is a must read! D.H. Nevins has created
something special, a fascinating read by a fantastic new writer.”
D.H. Nevins is one of those people who seems to have a whole lot of cool crammed into one place (the kind I hate ;D). As well as writing speculative fiction, she also has a bug for acting and spends her spare time (how she has any, I’ll never know) treading the boards. On top of that, she’s a self confessed thrill junkie and perfectionist, which is a great combo. You don’t want anyone but a perfectionist packing your parachute! And as if that weren’t enough, she’s a biker. That’s it, I can’t possibly describe any more coolness in one place. In fact, the jealousy is starting to well up in my fingers and cause cramps. So, without any further ado, let’s talk to her:

"Say, that's a nice bike" (Terminator 2 reference, anyone?)

Me – Hi D.H.. Thanks for gracing my blog with your literary presence! So that everyone can get to know you a little, why not give us a little history of your writing journey? When did you set your first pen to paper and what inspired those first words?

D.H. – Thanks so much for inviting me, Craig!  I’ve always enjoyed writing (I remember lying on my stomach under my picnic table when I was 8 years old writing a terrible little adventure about ‘Kelly the Dolphin’) and I’ve been a daydreamer with an overactive imagination for as long as I can remember.  But obviously, I’m also a little slow at connecting the dots because it took me quite a long time to finally combine those elements and write my first novel.  Then one day, it just kind of happened.  A few years ago, I simply sat down and started writing notes about angels and the end of the world.  The notes quickly became lengthier and more detailed—and before I knew it, I had plotted out my first novel.  Once I had fully formed ideas and characters, the words for the book simply flowed—I wouldn’t have been able to contain them even if I wanted to. 

Me – Kelly the Dolphin sounds like it has some potential as your next project 😉 I really enjoyed reading the first five chapters of your novel, Wormwood, on your blog. It really throws the reader in at the deep end with a great introductory scene. Did you do a lot of research for the apocalyptic theme? You certainly have some fantastic imagery.

D.H. – I’m so pleased that you feel that way about Wormwoods opening chapter, Craig.  Thank you!  You know, it’s funny.  I did spend a fair bit of time doing research for this book, mostly examining apocalyptic themes across a variety of religions, from Christianity to Hindu to ancient Babylonian stories.  But when it came down to describing the apocalypse itself, I relied almost entirely on my own imagination.  In fact, I could see that entire scene as clear as anything in my mind’s eye.  The difficult part was putting it down accurately in written form.  I really want my readers to be able to clearly visualize that scene and feel like they’re actually there, running for their lives.

Me – You nailed it! So, what are your plans for Wormwood now? Did you find the decision between traditional and e-publishing difficult?

D.H. – Wormwoodwill finally be published through Black Wraith Books (my own imprint) a little later on this month… I estimate the release date to be September 26th.  And yes, I did find the decision between going the traditional route and self-publishing to be a difficult one.  It would take far too long to go into the details about it now, but as a rendered version, I really felt that publishing it myself would be best for Wormwood overall.  Yes, I’m limiting scope and publicity, but not only do I now keep the rights to the book, I’m also ensuring that the cover is exactly how I want it, I can keep the title and maintain the story in exactly the way I want it to be told.  When it came down to it, I knew that the story itself and the characters within it were more important to me than how many books I sold.  I won’t deny that it was a tough choice, but it’s a decision that I feel good about.

Me – I had the same dilemma, and I think many indie authors out there can relate too. So what’s next for D.H. Nevins, the writer?

D.H. – I’m currently plotting out lots of ideas for a sequel to Wormwood.  The problem is that I have so many ideas, I keep changing my mind!  Also, my characters have become so real to me, I almost feel pressured to continue telling their stories.  Kali, for example, really exploded as a kick-ass character, and I’m anxious to continue on with her.  Additionally, Wormwoodoriginally had a prologue where we see Tiamat’s unusual birth.  I ended up loving that scene so much, I completely cut the prologue from the book and set it aside.  This is now the bones of a prequel to Wormwood, which will follow a young Tiamat through a very trying and bizarre childhood. I’m thinking of calling it Monster.  But this project is kind of simmering on a backburner, because the sequel has to come first.


Me – Sounds like we could be hearing about the Wormwood Trilogy soon enough! If you could resurrect any author for your End of Days celebration, who would you dig up? 

D.H. – I’d dig up both William Shakespeare andDr. Seuss.  Then, I would start an argument between the two of them… you know, just for fun.  They would probably have the coolest soundingargument ever!

Me – Thanks for dropping by, D.H., it’s been great talking to you. I look forward to reading more of your work.

D.H. – My pleasure, Craig.  It’s been an honour.

Wormwood is now available from the following places:
Amazon
You can contact D.H. Nevins all over the web here:

Website: http://www.dhnevins.com

Blog: http://www.dhnevins.com/dh-nevins-blog.html

2 responses

  1. How come the print on the interview part of this post is so faded as to be unreadable???????? I would like to read this interview……..please reset the print colour so readers can do what we do!!!!!

    September 23, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    • Woops! I’ll try to sort it asap. Thanks for pointing it out.

      September 23, 2011 at 9:46 pm

Leave a Reply

