An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

Publicationment!

I’ve had two large thuds on my doormat this week, and for once it isn’t the neighbour’s kid posting frozen poop.

The first package, I cracked open to find this inside:

Creepier and creepiest

 

If you like werewolves and creature features, you’ll love this collection. I’ve only got throgh the first few stories, but I’m so impressed with the quality that Misanthrope Press have injected into their book. I’m very proud to say that my short story ‘Hunting Grounds’ is nestled in those dark pages. And more than that, Paul Anderson gave my story an honourable mention in the Introduction. I could just wee!

The second thud came much later as it was originally delivered to the wrong address; ironically to the house on my street which I have long suspected of harbouring vampires (more on that in a future post). But once I scraped off the dried virgin blood and native soil encrusted on the package from next door, I found this inside:

What fantastic artwork!

What a cover! Where Misanthrope Press went creepy, Pill Hill Press have gone for a full-on awesomeness. This one is taking pride of place on my shelf from now on. In this anthology is my own tale ‘The Fly Man’ (page 105 if you want to skip that way :D). But the other stories are absolutely immense in their scope and diversity. This one will keep you up at night, for sure. If you want to invest in something for Halloween this year, then I’d suggest the hardcopy version. Worth every cent!

I couldn’t be more pleased. In one month, I’ve had two stories printed in two fantastic anthologies. This has given me a real spur to submit to more anthologies in the future. Remember guys, if you’ve read the stories, I’d love to hear what you think!

Thanks for reading.

2 responses

  1. Congratulations, Craig.

    I really enjoyed reading Hunting Grounds. I feel privileged to have read it before it got published. You’re on a roll, dude.

    Now if we could only get those other short stories published in an ebook.

    Pete

    October 7, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    • Cheers, Pete. Don’t worry, mate, the ebook will happen. We just need to get that title sorted out!

      October 8, 2011 at 9:40 am

Leave a Reply

