An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

Steampunk UK

Since hitting the Steampunk genre running, and becoming a full-on obsessive, it’s been a hobby of mine to find the little pockets of enthusiasts around the UK. These people, after all, will hopefully become my readers when Greaveburn hits the shelves this summer. And ever since I started my search, it has never ceased to amaze me how incredibly creative people can be.

The beauty of Steampunk, in my opinion, is how it encourages people to create, build, imagine and fashion all manner of doodads and thingumies. Etsy is, of course, the best way to find out about the hundreds of talented folk who make trinkets, gadgets, costumes and things-with-no-name. With these folks in mind, I think it’s only fair that I share the wealth of what I’ve found with you. Starting with The Dark Power.com.

Now here’s someone who takes their creating seriously! Not only does Dark Power make the most impressive creations, but they have even won awards for their Steampunk short film Beast of the Air! Take a look:

 

Good, eh? I wouldn’t mind one of those guns for when I go shopping in ASDA. Can’t wait to see them tackle the book trailer for Greaveburn! (Hint hint, Dark Power, if you’re reading this :D)

Have a look HERE for more of their gadgets and gizmos .

Moving on to another tinker-type, I’d like to draw your attention to The Little Steampunk Shop. Chock full of things that you can actually BUY, alll handmade and utterly cool-looking. If you need some Whatsits for your next Steam-theme endeavour, this is where to get them! Here’s just a couple of things that caught my eye:

Incredible clock design.

A Raygun that comes in its own glass dome.

There’s all manner of jewelry, modded USB sticks, clockwork insects and mice, lamps…By Jiggins, I’m salivating! With payday on the horizon, and my Steampunk outfit nearly ready, I think I’ll be visiting The Little Steampunk Shop again very, very soon.

It seems that while our American comrades love their Steampunk, there’s much love in our own fair country for some Neo-Victorian shinanigans, too. I can’t wait to meet some of them at the Weekend at the Asylum Steampunk Convention in September. It’s going to be an absolute riot!

 

Thanks for reading.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Four Elements You Just Have to Love About Steampunk: Guest Post – Once Upon A Time

  2. Hi,

    I’m a Bournemouth University postgraduate student and I’m producing a short Steampunk drama for my Masters project and I’m looking for a few props for our film.

    * Steampunk Radio (major prop, crucial to the story)
    * Wrist communicator device
    * Guns
    * Other general props (For set dressing)

    Could you please let me know if you have one, or if any Steampunk artists in the UK have one that I could perhaps borrow for a small deposit along with an invite for you or the owner(s) of the prop to feature in our film?

    Should you require more details about our film, you could visit the following links…
    http://igg.me/at/Revelations-The-Film/x/3338486
    http://revelationsthefilm.co.nr/
    https://www.facebook.com/Film.Revelations
    https://twitter.com/FilmRevelations (@FilmRevelations)
    https://plus.google.com/communities/107239121834493293819

    Thank you very much!

    May 25, 2013 at 4:33 pm

    • Hi! I’ll hot you on Twitter and spread the word about your project as much as I can. Look forward to seeing it! 🙂

      May 25, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Leave a Reply

