An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

My Steampunk Costume!

I’ve been promising this to you all for a loooong time now. But I’ve finally put the finishing touches to my Steampunk costume for the Weekend at the Asylum convention in Lincoln. And so, since I owe you loverly readers a huge thank you for supporting me over the last couple of years, for buying your copies of Not Before Bed, for commenting on here, retweeting on Twitter and ‘liking’ my Facebook page, here is your reward…

You get to see me in a bowler hat…

 

So what do you think? Punky enough for ya?

I’m a tri-virgin when it comes to cosplay, conventions and book signings, so the Asylum Weekend should be a really…interesting…experience. I’m so nervous about selling and signing Greaveburn, it’s unbelievable. But hopefully, surrounded by my fellow Steampunks, I’ll feel right at home in my costume.

In other news…work on the cover art for Greaveburn has begun. In the course of a couple of days our cover artist, Ravven Kitsune, has managed to go from my sketchy brief to a piece of work which is truly breathtaking. When I saw the prelims, I made a little squee of excitement. I can’t wait to show it to you all. Watch out for the big reveal coming VERY soon!

 

Thanks for reading.

13 responses

  1. LOVE IT! This book launch is going to be outstanding my dear :)

    June 9, 2012 at 12:54 pm

  2. Where are the goggles??

    Looking the steampunk part Mr Hallam.

    I’m looking forward to seeing the cover for Greaveburn. Glad you’re liking the prelims.

    June 9, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    • Hiya Pete. They thankfully cover a fair bit of my face, but I thought I’d leave them up on the hat this time around :D

      June 9, 2012 at 5:11 pm

      • I’ll let you off :)

        June 9, 2012 at 5:17 pm

      • I’ll bring them along at the next meet-up :D

        June 9, 2012 at 5:27 pm

      • Excellent. I look forward to it. :)

        June 9, 2012 at 6:40 pm

  3. I think your costume looks great! I’ve been going to Steampunk and Anime conventions since I was sixteen, and you look like you’ll be right at home. The effort people go to with their cosplay is always amazing, and this is going to sound quite dorky (who am I kidding, right?) but there’s always a kind of fellowship at these things. It’s really cool. I hope you have a great time!

    June 10, 2012 at 11:10 am

    • Thanks Lorna. Much appreciated. If you make it to the Asylum Weekend, let me know! :D

      June 10, 2012 at 11:46 am

      • Will do! I’m definitely hoping to get there (:

        June 10, 2012 at 1:11 pm

  4. You’re rocking the ‘punk style – have a blast! ;)

    June 10, 2012 at 1:13 pm

  5. Yowza. :-)

    June 11, 2012 at 3:11 am

    • Thanks for the positive feedback, everyone! As always, you all make me feel better :)

      June 11, 2012 at 6:33 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,306 other followers