An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

How to look like an author

I’m sorry, did you think this was going to be about how to present yourself as an author to readers/interviewers and other such people you’ll be meeting along the way? No no. What I need, dear friends, is your opinion! If you were paying attention to any of my interweb outlets yesterday, you’ll have noticed that the ebook version of Greaveburn is now available for purchase. A-woo-hoo! This is a major step in itself, and I’m absolutely ecstatic, but it’s still just a warm up for the print copies being released on the 20th. Ok, self-plug over. Now what’s the relevance? Well, it’s got me thinking about how a professional writer comes across, and how important it is to how we’re seen. Surely the words are all that matters, right? Well, I don’t know. So, we’ll start with “Does The Look matter?”

Let’s have a think. Picture your favourite author. There aren’t that many, in the grand scheme of things, where I know what they really look like. But the ones that I do know by sight have a very particular look. Let’s have a look at the kind of folk I mean:

Neil Gaiman

Legend in a long coat

 Neil Gaiman is  a hero of mine. I’ve never been shy about sharing it. He’s an awesome writer, and incredibly versatile in what he can turn his hand to. I think his first ever book was a biography for Duran Duran (but don’t quote me. I may have my authors mixed up). But his writing isn’t just what makes him so damned cool. Just look at the dude. Long black coat, awesome hair, monochrome photos. He’s like a literary Neo. If only I could pull off an ounce of his coolosity, I’d think myself pretty darn hip and down with the kids.

 

 

 

Terry Pratchett

Are hats the way to go?

The original dude of all dudes, as far as I’m concerned. The Discworld series is what got me into the Specualtive Fiction genre, and they still make me laugh on every re-read over 25 years later (Jeez, where did that go?). If anyone doesn’t like my writing, it’s Terry Pratchett’s fault. He inspired me to start creating my own worlds, even if thos early ones will never saw the light of day (and never will *shudder*). But look at him. He has a jaunty hat, he drinks tea, he’s covered in mice. And he still looks like the kind of guy you’d invite round for scones and a laugh. He looks like a really nice guy, and yet you take him seriously, too. Damn it, Terry! How do you do it?             

 

 

 

Anne Rice

Props?

Ok, obvious gender comparisons aside, Anne Rice knows how to work a look (take that Gok Wan). She looks like she would offer you apple pie and a glass of milk, then garrote you with that rosary and drink your blood from your skull. She also looks like she could walk into a room with Lestat and Louis, all nonchalant, and fit right in. She’s awesome; like a badass grandma that could roundhouse your head off with her oxford heels.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stephen King

Backdrop says it all?

The Master himself. He doesn’t need to wear all black, he doesn’t need a cool coat. He’s got his specs and his typewriter, and that’s how he rolls. No one’s saying that Stephen King is going to win any Mr. World competitions. But that’s not the point of him is it? The point is, he could stand in front of Conan the Barbarian on PCP, and Stephen would just talk to him. Nice-and-calm. Before you know it, Conan’s screaming bloody murder and commiting Hara Kiri because he can’t handle the crazy that King has just dropped in his ear. Now THAT’S  a writer! He also looks cool in a stripey shirt, of which I have plenty.

And so what have we learnt? Gaiman teaches us the virtues of awesome hair, cool coats and monochrome. Pratchett accessorises like a boss. Anne Rice preaches the virtues of a simple black number and a statement bob (not a choice I’ll be jumping on, I can assure you). And King shows us that sometimes the backdrop speaks proverbial volumes, and that can be all you need.

What does it all mean for yours truly? For a guy who’s just trying to break into the world of fiction, wielding his copy of Greaveburn like a Judeo-Christian tome and begging to be taken seriously? It means I need to get in the back of my wardrobe and have a rummage, that’s what it means…

Thanks for reading.

11 responses

  1. I know it’s a cliche, but you won’t be comfortable if you try and be somebody you’re not. I would say the general rule to follow is to be yourself, but your best self. So if you’re a jeans and t-shirt man then make sure that when you are being seen in your author capacity, they are the nicest, cleanest jeans and t-shirt that you own! And you know, wash your hair and stuff! And for the record, you look pretty cool to me on that photo of you reading!

    August 4, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    • Awww shucks. You made me blush haha. I think I’m just going to wear my Steampunk goggles everywhere I go…or maybe not hehe.

      August 4, 2012 at 3:57 pm

  2. I’ve seen Pratchett a few times in the flesh, when he’s been in New Zealand, and he looks just like that photo. Nice guy. Isaac Asimov used to cultivate sideburns for what he called a ‘leonine’ look. But as an author myself I’ve never quite known what we’re supposed to look like.

    August 5, 2012 at 7:20 am

    • I’m jealous, Matt. He’s a bit of a hero of mine. Thanks for the Asimov tip. I’ll start working on my “mutton chops” 😀

      August 5, 2012 at 10:31 am

  3. Well it means that and that sometimes a gimmick works but often such things either fade or backfire – if you have a distinctive look and style that you can call your own, then I say let that be it.
    If you are confident in your bearing when at the centre of attention, folks can tell. And there’s your image right there.

    August 6, 2012 at 10:46 am

    • Man, you’re always so damned profound. How do you do it? hahaha

      August 9, 2012 at 8:35 am

      • I am? Wow, thanks, I always feel like I’m just long-winded, half-arsed and rambly! 😀
        You just made my day good sir, thank ye!

        August 9, 2012 at 11:18 am

      • 😀

        August 10, 2012 at 11:51 am

  4. I remember a phase of mine steins which I decided that ‘ Ileandra Young wears vintage clothes.’ It was all well and good until I realised that I was spending too much money, but it was fun to play with for a while.
    Anne Rice really has got a look I love though; total funky badass!

    August 10, 2012 at 5:03 am

    • She’d eat me alive, I think.hahaha

      August 10, 2012 at 11:52 am

  5. It’s also surprising what people notice, though. People ask me what happened to my pendant when I’m not wearing it, and I can’t recall ever making a big deal out of it. -Chuckles- And it isn’t exactly a big thing.

    August 20, 2012 at 7:51 am

Leave a Reply

