An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

Greaveburn’s first week…

Since Monday’s release, Greaveburn has had a busy week. Or rather, I have. The book trailer hit, the to-read numbers on Goodreads took a nice little upward curve; readers from Colorado, Canada and a few other trans-atlantic places took enough interest to order it and get it shipped. And I got my first review!

This was the part that I was really worried about. As any author should be. If you say that you don’t care what the reviews say, you’re either a big fat liar-pants, or absolutely barking loony crazy. The reviews mean everything. Without reviews, there will be no more sales. No more sales means no more readers. And what are we Authors without our readers? You might as well take a space walk and scream at the universe, expecting an answer.

But, the review came, and it was good! Thanks to a pre-released copy going to The Steampunk Chronicle, I managed to get the nerve-wracking part over fairly quickly. Take a look at the actual review HERE. But basically, it’s a very good, well-rounded review. Good bits, bad bits, and the bad bits aren’t actually so bad, which is even better; some great constructive criticisms which will really help with Alan Shaw as I work on it.

 

And I got a box full of the little blighters!

 

Now for some stats. Everyone loves stats right? (groans from the crowd). Obviously I don’t know how many sales we’ve made, but I can tell you that Greaveburn hit the 12k mark in the Amazon Bestsellers Rankings. That’s pretty bloody good! I mean, these things change by the minute, so I’m hardly keeping track, but it’s nice to dip in every now and again and see that I’m only hovering on the edge of obscurity rather than being plunged into its choking depths. I’d call that a win!

I’ve also had my first interview with a newspaper, the local Doncaster Free Press. I only nipped in to drop in a review copy and there was a reporter pinning me to a chair and a photographer taking awkward-fixed-grin pictures of me against a plain background. Uber-uncomfortable, I’m sure you can imagine. And I also have my radio interview on the BookIt show TODAY! Listen in between 10am and 11am HERE (Click the Listen Live button anywhere in the world!) and you’ll see what an ass I make of myself…

As you can see, I’m very easily pleased. If Greaveburn does anything more than completely implode, I’ll be a happy little camper. No one’s heard of me. I’VE never heard of me, so why should it go stellar? It shouldn’t. But it’s a start. It’s a debut novel. It’s the first step on a long staircase; another thing to add to my writing C.V. And when I let myself think about it, it’s fantastic, exciting, and I’m committing the sin of pride every damn day. This is what we work toward, slave over, pray for and sign contracts in blood about. That book, on someone’s shelf. ANYONE’S shelf. And it’s happening right now. Excuse me a minute…

WAAAAAAAAAHOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Ok, I’m done…until next time… But I don’t mind getting carried away, feeling good. I’m reminded of a video I once watched of Neil Gaiman addressing University leavers, talking about his early experiences as a writer, and how he was so wrapped up in the work and striving to be what he wanted to, that he forgot to enjoy it a little more. Well, Neil, as always, thanks for the advice! I’ll be sure to bear it in mind over the next few months.

Thanks for reading

Craig

6 responses

  1. My goodness, he compared you to Dickens!

    When you first saw the review, did you scan through really quickly at first just to get an immediate sense of whether he loved it or hated it, and then read it again more thoroughly after? That’s what I’d do.

    August 26, 2012 at 1:01 am

  2. Hi Vanessa. No, I was too nervous about the whole thing. I sat and read it through, word for word, wondering on the tone and purpose of every darned sentence for about half an hour. Then I read it again, faster, to make sure I wasn’t dreaming hahaha
    So far it has been likened to Dickens (as you see above), Gormenghast by Mervyn Peake, and Neverwhere by Neil Gaimain. Talk about compliments! The latter two are in my top 10 favourite books!

    August 26, 2012 at 8:55 am

  3. Congratulations, darling. How exciting! 🙂

    August 26, 2012 at 6:59 pm

  4. Hey, congratulations! 🙂

    This is excellent news, going to go read the review after I’m done with this and I’m sure you’ve written a book that will find it’s home in more than a few shelves. Personally I’m happy to find another steam-punk writer getting a chance to put something out there and I hope to enjoy reading it sometime soon when I can get my hands on a copy.

    All the best with the newfound success and I wish you much more ahead sir.
    Cheers!

    August 27, 2012 at 10:37 am

    • Eva – Thanks very much! It’s pretty exciting 😀

      Spider – Cheers, mate. Hope you get a chance to read it. I’d love to hear what you think! Get yourself entered into the competition and you might just get it shipped and signed ;D

      August 31, 2012 at 5:11 pm

      • Will do sir!

        September 3, 2012 at 7:05 am

Leave a Reply

