An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

D.H. Nevins has tagged me for this fun blog hop, wherein I get to talk about my WIP, The Adventures of Alan Shaw. Since I’ve just finished the first draft, it seems like a pretty good time to be sharing it with you all, anyway. (This blog hop started on She Writes and is going pretty hard all over the writery circles, so keep an eye out for the other posts in the thread)

Here’s how it works:

If I tag you, use this format for your post
. Include an introduction to your interview post and a link to the person who tagged you for participation.
 Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (Work In Progress). Include some pictures if possible.
 Tag five other writers/bloggers by sending them an email and then add their links to the end of your interview post. Their answers should go up the week after. The blog post should be labelled:
 The Next Big Thing Blog Hop.

Easy? Ok, enough technical stuff…on with the questions!

****

1. What is the working title of your book?

The Adventures of Alan Shaw

****

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

While reasearching other Steampunk novels in the wake of Greaveburn’s release, I noticed that most worlds in the books were already esteablished. Steampunk was a thing that existed and that’s that. Alan Shaw is my answer to the gap. A series of short stories, much like the Edisonades penny stories of the 1800s, which not only chronicles the life of the main character, Alan Shaw, but also shows the reader how the age of steam took such a wildly different course from our own. At least, that’s the idea.

****

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Steampunk. Good old Steampunk. Since Greaveburn was more of a Gothic Fantasy (albeit with Steampunk elements), I wanted to really use the genre properly this time around. 

****

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I think maybe Jack and Tim Roth as the younger and older incarnations of Alan respectively. They are both excellent actors, they can work the London accent very well, and their obvious family resemblance would make the transition between time periods work the best.

****

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Alan Shaw, a street urchin with a flair for getting into trouble in Steam Age London, travels the world, getting himself into scrapes, and growing up a little along the way.

****

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I hope that it’ll be taken on as Greaveburn was by Inspired Quill, but we’ll have to see if they like it!

****

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’ve been working on it alongside getting Greaveburn up and running and to be honest I can;t actually remember when I sat down and first started typing. But perhaps a little over a year.

****

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Not a single one. It’s all new, baby! (Yeah right, I’m sure it has plenty of similarities to other books, but none I’ve read yet.)

****

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?

The same thing that inspires me every time. I write things that I’d like to read, and hope that people enjoy them the way I do.

****

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Well, while Greaveburn is a very self-contained story, Alan Shaw will have two books. It’s already longer and more indepth than Greaveburn was. So, for everyone who said they wished it was longer, don;t say I don’t listen to my reviews ;D But I personally think that Alan has real potential to be a great flawed hero, which is my favourite kind. For those of you who know me, there’s also a heavy does of myself in Alan’s character. See which bits you think are me ;D

****

Here are the authors I’m tagging. You’re awesome and you know it. Check out their blogs, and look for their posts some time next week!

Pete Denton

Christie Adams

Leah Car

Pete Ford

C.S. Sanders

3 responses

  1. Thanks for tagging me. I think 🙂

    Sounds like fun and something to help focus my mind ahead of the second draft. I’m looking forward to the first part of the Alan Shaw story.

    November 5, 2012 at 3:28 pm

  2. The Adventures of Alan Shaw sounds awesome, Craig!

    November 6, 2012 at 3:50 am

    • Thanks Danielle. I’m just hoping to get it published, now!

      November 13, 2012 at 10:37 am

Leave a Reply

