An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

World Goth Day!

Hi everyone.

As some of you may know, I love everything Gothic. Among my favorite books are Gormenghast, Wuthering Heights, Dracula and The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, alongside movies such as The Crow, Dark City and Franklin. Everytime I walk the streets of Edinburgh or see a particularly good cathedral of dilapidated churchyard (there’s a great selection of the latter in Doncaster where I live), I get a silly grin on my face. Right now I’m listening to the haunting vocal stylings of Robert Smith as I type, to get me in the mood…I’m weird and I love it.

And these things have been a huge influence on my writing, culminating in the release of my Gothic Fantasy novel Greaveburn last year.

And so, it is with great pleasure that I am here to inform you of this year’s World Goth Day! Every year on the 22nd of May, the darklings crawl from their crypts, or take the winding stairs from their 17th century apartments, and grace the world with their midnight glory.

The website HERE has a fantastic array of information and other great stuff, but otherwise I implore you just to get involved!

And in honour of this most awesome event, my publisher Inspired Quill have granted an epic discount on Greaveburn for World Goth Day. Take a look at the blurb and click the pic below to get yourself linked over:

A Hero murdered.

A Girl alone.

A city of Villains.

From the crumbling Belfry to the Citadel’s stained-glass eye, across acres of cobbles streets and knotted alleyways that never see daylight, Greaveburn is a city with darkness at its core. Gothic spires battle for height, overlapping each other until the skyline is a jagged mass of thorns.

Archduke Choler sits on the throne, his black-sealed letters foretell death for the person named inside. Abrasia, the rightful heir, lives as a recluse in order to stay alive. With her father murdered and her only ally lost, Abrasia is alone in a city where the crooked Palace Guard, a scientist’s assistant that is more beast than man, and a duo of body snatchers are all on her list of enemies.

Under the cobbled streets lurk the Broken Folk, deformed rebels led by the hideously scarred Darrant, a man who once swore to protect the city. And in a darkened laboratory, the devious Professor Loosestrife builds a contraption known only as The Womb.

With Greaveburn being torn apart around her, can Abrasia avenge her father’s murder before the Archduke’s letter spells her doom?

greaveburn_6x9

There’s also a new juicy interview with myself over at The Pen Punks blog which some of you itching for a sequel might be interested in reading *knowing wink*

That’s all from me for now.

Embrace the weird.

5 responses

  1. What greater role is there to aspire to than to be weird and an author! I am definitely weird, I just need to get my novel done!

    you might enjoy my friend’s blog, it is filled with all kinds of delightful weirdness: http://manbehindthecurtain.ie/

    May 20, 2013 at 3:29 pm

    • Then you’re already half way there! Woohoo! Can’t wait to read it 🙂

      May 20, 2013 at 3:43 pm

  2. Great that there is a world goth day. 🙂

    May 25, 2013 at 5:57 pm

  3. Hi Craig,
    I have finally finished your novel Greaveburn which I enjoyed. I was sorry to miss your visit to Doncaster College as I was on training that day. I know the students enjoyed your talk.

    July 23, 2013 at 9:15 am

    • Hi Liz. Thanks for dropping by. I’m glad you enjoyed the book. I’m sure I’ll be in and around our fair home town at some point in the future again.
      Hope to see you then! Keep an eye on the TOUR DEETS page and that should keep you updated 😀

      July 23, 2013 at 9:59 am

Leave a Reply

