An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

Haiku

As I mentioned in my last post, I might be taking a hiatus from prose for a month or two but I’m still keeping the creative muscles flexed. I’ve mostly been doing this by writing haiku, which is my equivalent of a crossword puzzle or playing sudoku. I love these little fellas and I thought that I’d share some with you. Some are just random thoughts and images, others are around something I overheard on tv and decided to use it as a writing prompt “Looking for love in all the wrong places”.

That prompt has been good to me of late. While writing The Adventures of Alan Shaw, I’ve taken my first forrays into romance and it’s been quite a learning curve. The prompt has made me really think about romance from a realistic point of view; how imperfect it can be, how we can make mistakes so easily, how we can pick the wrong person or the wrong person can pick us.  And so that’s a bit of explanation for when you get to those haiku (and the poems I might post later from the same prompt).

Anyway, without much further ado, here’s a few haiku!

Mountains

Purple shards scratch
pale scars in heaven’s belly.
Winter’s grim revenge.
 

Over

This is how it ends.
With a clash and a whimper.
Unjust Finale.
 

Crush

Briefest emotion;
A crushing spasm of the
heart. I wanted you.
 

Novelty

There is a glow about
you. Infectious to me.
An autumn log fire.
 

Lingering

Supple willow fronds;
The knots made by our fingers.
Tenderness and strength
 

Well, that’s a few for you. Hope you enjoyed them! I’ll be at Leeds Central Library tomorrow at a Steampunk event (See the Tour Deets page) so I hope you all enjoy your weekend!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

