An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

Leather…my new obsession…

Ok, that title is a tad misleading. I haven’t gone kinky on you. Not yet, anyway.

I’m talking about my new hobby, leathercrafting.

It all started with my first LARP event earlier this year, and the fact that I wanted to try to make as much of my own stuff as possible. Since I needed armour, that meant learning to make things from leather. And so the obsession began, because leathercraft is bloody fun!

I started small. I wanted to make something that I could try to sew together.  A jerkin, perhaps. And so that’s what I did. I got my kit from eBay, and some cheap leather from a place called Fabworks near Huddersfield, and I got to work. After bleeding fingers and swearing and stabbing myself in the hand with my sewing awl several times (apparently I dont learn from pain), I managed to make this:

Not bad...for a human...

Not bad…for a human…

I later dyed it a dark brown for a friend’s Game of Thrones party. But I can’t find a pic of that. Suffice to say, it did well as monstering kit for the LARP event.

But if I was going to survive at LARP, I’d need some armour. And so a project was born. Here’s a photographic story for you…

So, I set up a workspace and starting cutting things out.

So, I set up a workspace and starting cutting things out.

Rivetting things together is just an excuse to bash stuff real hard.

Rivetting things together is just an excuse to bash stuff real hard.

But eventually it started to look like this.

But eventually it started to look like this.

Should probably make it a little prettier. So I edged it with some leafy bits

Should probably make it a little prettier. So I edged it with some leafy bits

Probably going to need some vambraces so my forearms don't get bruised when I inevitably got hit

Probably going to need some vambraces so my forearms don’t get bruised when I inevitably got hit

Wet-formed to my mannequin, Manuel.

Wet-formed to my mannequin, Manuel.

Time for some colour! (note to self, dye things BEFORE wet-forming next time)

Time for some colour! (note to self, dye things BEFORE wet-forming next time)

Vambrace close-up!

Vambrace close-up!

And there you go! It took a couple of weeks of picking at it in short bursts to get the whole thing finished, but I’m pretty proud of it. I got the snot kicked out of me in the LARP battles and never felt a thing so that has to be a good result, right?

Anyway, the addiction continues. I’ll post more projects in the future.

 

Thanks for reading.

8 responses

  1. Wow!
    This piece is absolutley awesome!
    Did you make the Pattern my your selfe or did you find ist somewere?
    Lg, Sarah

    June 29, 2014 at 9:15 pm

    • Made it all myself, Sarah. I’m quite chuffed with it, really. I’m hoping to go bigger and better next time 😁

      June 29, 2014 at 9:16 pm

      • It’s realy stunning. How thick is the leather you jused?
        And how long are you working with leather by now? It looks so professional.

        June 29, 2014 at 9:25 pm

      • This armour was my first project. I use 3mm because that’s what I need for it to count as armour in the LARP system I play 😁

        June 29, 2014 at 9:26 pm

      • Cool! You are realy talented;-)
        Needless to say I’m also into leather. Currently I’m working on corsets and books but my friend wants an armour. So someday I’ll have to try this. You are an inspiration for me.. 🙂

        June 29, 2014 at 9:32 pm

      • You really are too nice 😁. If you get stuck, drop me a message. Although I’m sure you’ll be fine. My Facebook page gets checked most.

        June 29, 2014 at 9:42 pm

      • Thanks, perhaps you can lend me a virtual hand when I come to get this thing started (there are so much unfinished projekts)
        I’ll make sure to check your fb out tomorrow;-)

        June 29, 2014 at 9:48 pm

      • Look forward to it 😁

        June 29, 2014 at 9:59 pm

Leave a Reply

