The Adventures of Alan Shaw – Delays

Alan Shaw should be on shelves right now. But he isn’t. And I’m just a bit gutted.

You see, we have had issues with book cover artists. It’s a long story so I won’t pore over it, but suffice to say the artist we had demanded more money at the very last minute before we were supposed to publish.

Damn.

The main problem? Even when the artist in question decided to retract the demand for more cash, I couldn’t bear to think of my writing wrapped in pictures by someone so unprofessional.

And so I said no. And Inspired Quill agreed that we would simply go elsewhere with someone that we can trust. You see, the Alan Shaw contract is for three books, each with six illustrations, and that’s a lot of work and a lot of pay for someone who really wants the work. And I’d rather give it to them than the person we were working with previously.

Still, that means that Alan Shaw won;t be with us for a while longer.

The positives?

I have a much greater piece of mind about the future of the novels. You see, although my artistic skills aren’t great, I’ll be doing the artwork myself (with some outsourcing for the colouring because I’m colour blind and don’t trust myself). This means that although the images might not be the best line work you’ll ever see, at least the characters look exactly like they do in the book. Or, at least, as close as I can get them with my meager skills.

So Alan Shaw might not be here until September. But hopefully it will look dandy by the time we’re done.

Bear with me, true believers.

 

Thanks for reading.

One thought on “The Adventures of Alan Shaw – Delays

Leave a Reply

