Performance Anxiety: Author’s bane

Hi everyone.

Well, I finally have an e-copy of the new book in my hot little hand. The cover image is complete, as are the internal illustrations, and Inspired Quill have put it all together. The print copies should be ready for release in early September, but for now it’s time to get this thing out for review!

And so the Performance Anxiety begins.

This is one of my major hurdles as an author. I have very little confidence in any ability I may have, and while I’m dying to know what people think, I’m also just plain dying from nerves.

I had the same problem with Greaveburn, and any short story I’ve ever had published. That sinking feeling you get when you’ve poured over a year of your life into a project. You’ve fallen in love with the characters, and they’ve become real people in your head. As I’m typing this, I’m realising what the problem actually is.

While I feel anxiety for myself and if people like my writing, I feel bad for the characters! Those imaginary people are so real to me now that I just want people to like them, for the characters’ sake. I feel bad for poor Alan. He’s a messed up guy who has grown up with very little guidance, and he’s turned into a bit of a shit because of it. So what if people don’t see his sensitive side, his bravery and his charm? I want him to be liked.

I think that makes me a little bit crazy.

And this should come as no surprise to any of you hahaha

 

Anyways, keep your eyes peeled, folks, because I’ll be slowly leaking the book cover and internal covers over the next couple of weeks. I hope you like them!

 

Embrace the weird!

2 thoughts on “Performance Anxiety: Author’s bane

Leave a Reply

