An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

Guess who’s back…

This place is a little dusty…it can’t have been that long since I…

TWO YEARS!

I’m so sorry, guys! I’m afraid this blog fell down the back of the radiator in the spare room and I’ve only just found it.

Oh my. What’s happened in two years?

Well, I’ve still been writing, if that helps. I just today finished the last strokes on The Adventures of Alan Shaw volume 2. It’s a doozy. I hope you’ll all like it.

Oh, and I finally did give up the day job, despite people telling me not to (or was that because of my singing? I forget.). Anyway, you are now looking at a full-time author. Which is how I’m thinking about it, rather than as a complete lack of direction or plans or financial support or…I think I need  moment.

Anyway, here I am. I’ve started up a little editing/proofreading service to make sure I can still eat. That’s going well. I just finished editing a great Steampunk Children’s book called Verity Twigg and the Da Vinci Quill Mystery, which I’m sure you’ll all enjoy when it hits the shelves. I’ve also just done a foreword for an upcoming collection of anecdotes about playing RPGs such as Dungeons and Dragons. I was asked to do it as the editor knew I ran my own games, so that was nice of him.

What else?

Oh yes, you can get in on some of that juicy experience, if you like. I’m adding a new page to the blog with some reviews of work I’ve already done and a contact. Feel free to drop me a line if you are in need of editing, proofreading or general assistance with your stories or manuscripts. Hell, I’ll proofread your business’ menus if you like (Don’t you hate ordering from a miss-spelled menu? Just me then).

Oh, my next writing project is a book called Down Days, which is a first hand account of someone with depression. Me, that is. I’ll talk about that a bit more in another post, I think.

To clarify, I’m back. Hopefully with more than a bi-annual visit. I hope you’re all still there, and all still well. This is going to be a tough ride so I appreciate your patience.

 

As always, my friends, thanks for reading!

7 responses

  1. Alexandra

    Massive congratulations on becoming a professional author. Have yet to make my mark! I have not read The Adventures of Alan Shaw, yet – will order that now. If it is anything like the quality of Greaveburn, I will enjoy it.

    July 6, 2016 at 3:30 pm

    • I hope you enjoy it, Alex. And let me know if you need any help editing your own work 😊

      July 6, 2016 at 7:47 pm

      • Alexandra

        Have it on my Kindle, Craig, which I feel quite bad about as I would actually like a REAL book, but you know how it is re: finances. I will definitely consider you for proof-reading, when I have a couple of bob! 🙂

        July 7, 2016 at 11:13 am

      • As long as people are reading, that’s all that matters 😊
        I look forward to reading your work too!

        July 7, 2016 at 3:35 pm

  2. Way to go, Craig! Kudos to you for following your dreams. Best of luck with everything.

    July 6, 2016 at 4:59 pm

    • Thanks so much, Danielle. All I have to do now is not cock it up 😜

      July 6, 2016 at 7:48 pm

  3. Dude! Well done. I look forwarding to hearing all about it soon.

    July 8, 2016 at 9:40 am

Leave a Reply

