An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

Pokemon Go in Doncaster

So, I caved.

Well, to say I caved would imply I actually tried to resist. I didn’t. I’ve been waiting for some kind of real-time Pokemon game since I chose my first Charmander back in 1996. And now that it’s here, there was no way I was going to let it slide by.

And so, I did the thing to get it in the UK before the release date and, finally, I feel like a real Pokemon trainer!

Now, the amusing part. Pokemon GO is smarter than I gave it credit for. Advertising suggested that the wee beasties that you could catch would depend on where you were in the real world at the time.

“Surely it isn’t that good,” said the adult cynic that I have become since I first spoke with Professor Oak.

Turns out, it’s too damn good.

Pokemon GO has my home town down to a T. I’ve had nothing but Pidgey, Ratata and Weedle for hours at a time with the occasional Psyduck if I head toward the river. So…rats, pigeons, bugs and ducks. That sounds about right!

At this rate, the only way I’ll catch anything more exotic is at the Yorkshire Wildlife Park.

Wait…that’s genius! I’m going this weekend, for sure.Β Also, I’m yet to try out the local gym and see if I can catch a Machop. That’s a job for this evening.

The other thing I noticed is how much work they’ve put into making your home town’s landmarks important. The local church around the corner from my house is a pokestop (not sure why, but hey-ho). And all around the town centre are little things like statues and clocks that all have their names pop up in the app.

Now, you can tell that Niantic were struggling for landmarks of interest in Doncaster because some of the pokestops are things like “mushroom statue” and “street corner”. But, by God, they’re in there with a little photograph s you know when you’re in the right place. And that gives me a little shiver of excitement despite the lacklustre attractiveness of my home town.

Anyway, I’m off. There are baseball caps to wear backwards and backpacks to be filled with snacks for my next journey into the unknown territories of Doncaster. Stay safe, fellow trainers.

 

Thanks for reading.

39 responses

  1. Debra

    Hey Lakeside is great for Magikarp! πŸ˜€

    July 13, 2016 at 3:29 pm

  2. Dean Storar

    So your telling me there are alot of pokestops around doncaster centre?

    July 13, 2016 at 4:53 pm

    • Loads! 😁

      July 13, 2016 at 5:01 pm

      • Dean Storar

        I know where im going tomorrow then

        July 13, 2016 at 5:03 pm

      • Hahaha good man! Let me know what you catch 😊

        July 13, 2016 at 5:08 pm

      • Dean Storar

        Will do iv not been very lucky so far iv got mostly same 3 as you with a couple extra

        July 13, 2016 at 5:12 pm

      • Sounds about right. I think I’m on 11 now but it took some actual EXERCISE. Noooooooo!

        July 13, 2016 at 5:14 pm

      • Dean Storar

        I have 16 pokemon in pokedex but 2 of them are evolved versions of their starting state

        July 13, 2016 at 5:17 pm

      • That’s great! You must have Ketchum blood running in your veins 😁

        July 13, 2016 at 5:23 pm

      • Dean Storar

        I wish i did i used up all my pokeballs already i have a habbit of missing the pokemon

        July 13, 2016 at 5:25 pm

      • You know you can pick up a missed pokeball if you’re quick right? 😁

        July 13, 2016 at 5:26 pm

      • Dean Storar

        Errrrm yes of course, well i do now anyway 😦 all them lost pokeballs i could have picked back up

        July 13, 2016 at 5:28 pm

      • Only some, I’m afraid. Some roll out of reach. But now and again you can get one back 😊

        July 13, 2016 at 5:38 pm

      • Dean Storar

        Thank you for that bit of info i will have to try it

        July 13, 2016 at 5:39 pm

      • Trainers gotta stick together, man 😜

        July 13, 2016 at 5:41 pm

      • Dean Storar

        Went to town today same old pokemon rattata pidgy and occasional zubat and spearow but i did hatch a mr mime from an egg aswell as a magikarp and caught me a ghastly

        July 14, 2016 at 2:17 pm

      • Great work! That poke ball thing does NOT work, by the way. Thought it did but I was wrong 😊

        July 14, 2016 at 2:56 pm

      • Dean Storar

        I was wondering why i couldn’t pick them up i thought i was doing something wrong

        July 14, 2016 at 2:58 pm

      • I thought they were going back I to my bag but they weren’t. Apologies. I know NUTHIN

        July 14, 2016 at 3:02 pm

      • Dean Storar

        No worries mate its an easy mistake

        July 14, 2016 at 3:06 pm

  3. Michael

    am i the only one that feels kinda silly, 29yo man walking round town on his own looking for pokemon?! anyhow im enjoying it even if i do πŸ˜€

    July 15, 2016 at 8:42 am

    • Hahaha definitely not. Embrace your inner child mate!

      July 15, 2016 at 8:47 am

    • Dean Storar

      In the town centre i was more interested in the pokestops i just put my phone ontop of kids pushchair and picked it up whenever i saw one or a pokemon i dont have yet but in my own town i just walk wherever the phone takes me well in a safe way that is i caught a parasext on the commute to school with only a small diversion

      July 15, 2016 at 9:16 am

      • Nice! I went to lakeside today and got loads 😊

        July 15, 2016 at 9:33 am

      • Dean Storar

        What kind of pokemon are at lakeside?

        July 15, 2016 at 9:35 am

      • Staryu, magikarp, dratini, polywag, pidgey, weedle, rattata, venonat…I think that’s all I saw.

        July 15, 2016 at 9:39 am

      • Dean Storar

        I need to go to lakeside then

        July 15, 2016 at 9:42 am

      • That’s why I went. A friend tipped me off and some nice person had dropped a lure 😊

        July 15, 2016 at 9:53 am

  4. G1zzardPuk3

    Anyone know why I cannot put a pokemon in a gym? Gym is Red same as me but it only gives option to fight.

    July 15, 2016 at 2:27 pm

    • I don’t. Sorry. I haven’t done it either.

      July 15, 2016 at 2:28 pm

    • Dean Storar

      I havent exactly competed in the gym but my guess would be that you may have to beat an existing players pokemon to replace it as the most iv seen is 3 pokemon on 1 gym so i believe if you beat a pokemon thats there you should be able to put your pokemon their

      July 15, 2016 at 2:31 pm

      • Dean Storar

        I now realise that “there” and “their” are in the wrong places i feel stupid

        July 15, 2016 at 2:32 pm

  5. G1zzardPuk3

    There are 3 pokestops at St. Georges church all near each other. Great place to drop a Lure on each (if there are a few of you). Use a lucky egg if you have one for double xp.

    July 15, 2016 at 2:34 pm

    • Dean Storar

      I have no idea where that Church is

      July 15, 2016 at 2:35 pm

  6. G1zzardPuk3

    St. Georges is in town centre next to B&M (used to be Tesco). Regarding gyms, I have seen some with 5 or 6 pokemon. Maybe it depends on how many fights it has had? I will keep trying

    July 15, 2016 at 2:41 pm

  7. Mikeyb001

    Regarding the placement of pokemon in the gym; think you have to get the prestige points down to 0 before you can leave one. May take a few battles

    July 17, 2016 at 12:31 pm

    • I think you’re right there 😊

      July 17, 2016 at 12:35 pm

      • Cccrips

        Walking from 1 church to the other church near hawthorns in cantley takes 3min so by the time you walk bk you can use the PokeStop agen as it re starts every 6 min so you get 2 PokeStops every 6 min plus hitch your eggs

        July 22, 2016 at 6:34 pm

Leave a Reply

