The latest event

Hi everyone!

Just thought I’d pop in and see how you guys are doing. So…what’s new with you?

I attended an event over the weekend called “Mines and Monsters” in Eastrington. It was a nice little event in a village hall, mostly focussing on Minecraft and pitched toward kids, but with some other geek-fest stalls. It’s the first one I’ve done in ages. I had the “opportunity” to get up on a stage, put a box on my head and play Minecraft (something I’ve never done in my life) while blinded and facing the opposite direction from the screen while kids screamed instructions at me. It was bloody hilarious and I was laughing the whole time inside my giant box-head. Suffice to say, I did not catch the pig I was supposed to be slaying. Which was confusing, because I thought that Minecraft was about building things.

I am such an out-of-touch old man hahaha

I think with Alan Shaw volume 2 not being out yet, that I was waiting for that before heading out again. That might sound crazy, but I hate feeling like I’m peddling the same old books each event. That’s also the reason that I haven’t attended any Steampunk events this summer, despite a flurry of emails to do so (which is always nice of folks). But, for some reason, I decided to accept this one, and I’m glad that I did.

It can be lonely being an author. All of your readers seem so far away, sometimes, and the reviews can be slow or non-existent which makes getting feedback really tough. For someone like me who loves to know what people did and didn’t enjoy so that I can keep working to improve with each book, that void of contact can leave me feeling cut off.

Then there’s the other bonus of selling my books to folks: I get a real kick up the arse about finishing the next one. Every time someone asks which of my books are part of a series, I look at the solitary Alan Shaw volume and think “dammit, finish the last one so its ready when volume two gets out”. Think how awesome it would be to have an actual completed series out there. All the ideas are in my head, after all, I just need to get them down.

But, as many of you will know, focusing on one project at a time isn’t exactly my thing. Right now, I have six separate book ideas in my head, three of which are on the go, one of which is written but needs tearing apart because it’s old and rubbish. And I love them all equally. They’re also ridiculously different styles and themes.

Why do I do this to myself?

Oh yeah, because I can’t help it and I love making things up 🙂

Anyways, that’s me for now. Inspired Quill are working on the edits for Alan Shaw volume 2 and I’m typing as fast as I can to finish the last book, for those who are waiting to find out what happens at the end of the series.

See you all soon!

 

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

